Presidents, Republic of Texas, Part 1

Number Name Started Ended Vice President
Interim David G. Burnet 3/16/1836 10/22/1836 Lorenzo de Zavala
1 Sam Houston 10/22/1836 12/10/1838 Mirabeau B. Lamar
2 Mirabeau B. Lamar 12/10/1838 12/3/1841 David G. Burnet
3 Sam Houston 12/13/1841 12/9/1844 Edward Burleson
4 Anson Jones 12/9/1844 2/19/1846 Kenneth Anderson

The Republic began with the Treaties of Velasco in May 1836 and ended with the annexation of Texas, orchestrated by Anson Jones.  Capitals of the Republic included Washington-on-the-Brazos, Harrisburg, Galveston, Velasco, Columbia, Houston and Austin.  Some of these names are no longer familiar to us.  Harrisburg became part of Houston; Velasco became part of Freeport.

The various presidents differed widely in their idealogy and vision for the future of Texas.  We don’t intend to editorialize about what they believed, just to discuss them as individuals.  Their personal views helped to shape the direction that the Republic took during its existence.

© 2015, all rights reserved.

3 thoughts on “Presidents, Republic of Texas, Part 1”

  1. It is good fodder to know and take into account who made this great Nation of ours and so we should read and realize…Thanks…and have a great 4th…..


  2. it was ok, too many Mexican fire works and guns in the 3 county area…..and thanks again…for being a Texan….

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.