Tag Archives: republic of texas

José Antonio Navarro

José Antonio Navarro was the son of Angel Navarro of Corsica, the Mediterranean island south of Spain, and Josefa Maria Ruiz y Peña. He was born in 1795 in San Antonio de Béxar. He, like many other Tejano residents of the area, opposed the rule of Santa Anna. He married Margarita de la Garza in 1825 and together they would have seven children.

Read the rest of this entry »


Tags: , , , , , ,

Henry Karnes, Karnes City and Karnes County

Henry Wax Karnes was a soldier in the Texas Revolution and later was a Texas Ranger.  He was born in Tennessee in 1812 and grew up in Arkansas. He first came to Texas on a visit in 1828 and later returned for good in 1835 when he enlisted in the army under Captain John York.  One of the first battles he is known to have participated in was the Battle of Concepción (on the grounds of Mission Concepción) and later in the Siege of Bexar.  He was also associated with Erastus “Deaf” Smith and is thought to be the first to deliver the news to Sam Houston of the fall of the Alamo mission to Santa Anna.


(Mission Concepción)

Read the rest of this entry »


Tags: , , , , , ,

Irion County, Texas

Irion County is situated west of San Angelo (Tom Green County) in West Texas.  Its county seat is Mertzon.  It is sparsely populated but the origin of its name extends back to the early days of the Republic of Texas.  It was founded in 1889 and was named for Robert Anderson Irion, a medical doctor.  Dr. Irion was a friend and personal physician of Sam Houston.

Read the rest of this entry »

Leave a comment

Posted by on December 17, 2015 in county names, republic of texas, sam houston


Tags: , , , , ,

Presidents, Republic of Texas, Part 3 (1842-1845)

The first three Presidents of the Republic of Texas reflected the various swings of political sentiment among Texas voters.  Sam Houston was followed by Mirabeau B. Lamar.  Following the Lamar term, Sam Houston was again elected President of the Republic and took office on December 13, 1841.

Read the rest of this entry »


Tags: , , , , ,

Presidents, Republic of Texas, Part 2 (1836-1841)

Sam Houston and Mirabeau B. Lamar:

Sam Houston always had people who opposed him, whether it concerned his political philosophy, his lifestyle or his military strategy.  One such individual was Mirabeau B. Lamar.  These two men would serve as the first two Presidents of the young Republic of Texas.

Read the rest of this entry »


Tags: , , , ,

Presidents, Republic of Texas, Part 1

Number Name Started Ended Vice President
Interim David G. Burnet 3/16/1836 10/22/1836 Lorenzo de Zavala
1 Sam Houston 10/22/1836 12/10/1838 Mirabeau B. Lamar
2 Mirabeau B. Lamar 12/10/1838 12/3/1841 David G. Burnet
3 Sam Houston 12/13/1841 12/9/1844 Edward Burleson
4 Anson Jones 12/9/1844 2/19/1846 Kenneth Anderson

The Republic began with the Treaties of Velasco in May 1836 and ended with the annexation of Texas, orchestrated by Anson Jones.  Capitals of the Republic included Washington-on-the-Brazos, Harrisburg, Galveston, Velasco, Columbia, Houston and Austin.  Some of these names are no longer familiar to us.  Harrisburg became part of Houston; Velasco became part of Freeport.

The various presidents differed widely in their idealogy and vision for the future of Texas.  We don’t intend to editorialize about what they believed, just to discuss them as individuals.  Their personal views helped to shape the direction that the Republic took during its existence.

© 2015, all rights reserved.


Posted by on July 6, 2015 in republic of texas


Tags: , ,